A Little Rant

December 13, 2009 at 4:11 pm (Ramble On, Rants) (, , , , , , , , , )

What’s on my iPod : Beautiful Day by U2

Rarely do I rant about the writing and publishing world, but today, I had to get this off my chest. On Tuesday, I zipped over to Best Buy to get my copy of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince on Blue-ray. While I was at my favorite little shopping center, I decided to run into VERY BIG DISCOUNT BOOKSTORE (I’ll refrain from completely lambasting particular bookseller since I usually find no complaints with them). I was there to pick up debut author Lauren Kate’s paranormal YA, Fallen. I’ve been anticipating this book because the subject is fallen angels, and though it doesn’t sound like my plot, I’m itching to see what the competition is writing. Well, after foundering for about twenty minutes looking for the book that was scheduled to release that day, I went to the front to ask. And I did recieve GREAT customer service, but nobody could find the book. Their system said they had seven in stock. After another fifteen minutes, the general concensus was I could order the book on-line, but it just wasn’t available in the store. As a writer and a hopefully soon published one, I was angry for Lauren Kate. A snafu like this is horrible. How gut-wrenching to discover that your debut novel can’t be bothered to be placed on the shelf of a major retailer!

So, I decided that I would post a link to Amazon. There are other places you can get it (I hope). And check it out; it looks fascinating.

Fallen

1 Comment

  1. Kendal Ashby said,

    Ah that does suck. I rarely go out of my way to find something and pretty much just read what comes my way, but on the few occasions I have gone out of my way to get something, I’d be ticked if it wasn’t there. Especially if it was the release day and the computers say it was in stock!
    Great post Cate! Even though I was unaware of this book before hand, I am now putting it on my x-mas list! Hope Santa knows how to find it!

Leave a Reply

